starting prob

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ANDY

happy new year to everyone,through work,new job etc,not had much time to run my savage25,been in the shed for about 5 months,tried to start it but won't plug is ok seems to be flooding all the time i am still new to this any advise would be great:newb:

Your probably over primeing the engine take the glow plug out and crank the engine over watch your eyes tho I would also check your fuel has it set in the shed too (I keep my truck and fuel at room temp ) when I store it.. Get some fresh fule and a new plug and go from there ok man keep us posted

starting

there is a bit of crud in the carb just in the process of cleaning it had it going rev up really high then cut out. how do i take the carb off and where can i get an engine manual s-25,i have learnt my lesson on this one thanxs

There should be a screw just below the carb on the backside of it. And you can go to the hpi web site and look at the manual for any truck they have. Me personally i would pull the engine and pull the back plate off the motor and clean it out just to be on the safe side. A little wd40 would help in cleaning the inside. JMO!

starting

i've got it going to a fashion,stripped the carb put it back to factory settings and it started running really rough, when i brake it chokes the engine doesn't stall maybe carb wants setting up proper i just put in the twin brake hop up took engine and gear box out(must be an easier way)don't think i lined them back up proper,just ordered the new spur gear,it's all good fun though.any advice on tunning the carb for a newbie like me thanxs lads

i when i brake it chokes the engine

Sounds like you need to adjust your idle screw. When you apply the brakes the carb slide will close until it hits the idle screw, tighten it a little and that should cure that problem.