Savage 25 tear down newbie question

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Derekpike

So I have my 25 broken down with both TVPs off to do the brakes. (Don't judge it was just easier lol) As I'm looking at this thing in pieces I wonder to myself what else should I do as far as maintenance goes while this thing is tore down. Keep in mind I'm still pretty new to the hobby so I might ask for more information depth explanations and my free time doesn't exist. Also, this Savage wasn't in as good as shape as the seller said it was. I have done nothing to the differentials and thought that would probably be something worth while to look at. I know it's still early to say this, but I'll probably start my winter tear down now so it's done by spring. I wish I was kidding with that statement. My free time this fall/winter will be represented by a negative number. I'm sure I'm forgetting to ask something. I'll think of it later and comment.

Make sure all the bearings are in good shape, and replace if necessary.
Upgrade the steeringassembly to bearings,
Do you have an upgraded steering servo?
Throttle mod.

What brakes are you going to install? Dual red fibers are the best imo..

I know how some bearings just fall apart in your hands. Those are obviously bad. Any other way to determine good or bad @Caretaker109 ? I think they sell whole bearings kits?

I'm not familiar with the throttle mod or the steering assembly upgrade you suggested.

I have a Traxxas 2075 steering servo. Might not be the correct model number, but it is Traxxas. So not sure if that's an upgrade or not lol. I know it's not the stock servo.

Yes, going from a single disc that is factory to the dual red fiber.

Full bearing set is best way to make sure you are ok to go.

The steering assembly has 2 plastic bushings, upgrading to bearings will improve steering.

Throttle mod, new linkage from servo. Do a search on Google. Savage ofna Throttle mod.