Need Tec Advice

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SavageBlood82

I have a Savage 25 that will fire up but as soon as you give it gas it shuts off. Any advice. I wrecked it 3 years ago and replaced front dogbone. It sat for a couple of years due to lack of funds. Any help would help thanks

It will fire up and run. And sit and idle. But when I give it gas it just shuts off instantly. I did get it to move about 10 feet but it had hardly any power. Just wandering if it is in transmission or clutch. I'm a novice at this sorry. Lol. I need help

I would retune it. Reset both your high and low needles by completely screwing them in, then back them off to stock settings. I believe the stock settings are around 1.5 turns out for the LSN and 4 turns out for the HSN. Also check the idle needle, you want to set it just higher than where it wants to kill at.

Thanks I will do that. Thanks for the help man I appreciate it.

Make sure you let it warm up before tuning it. I did not understand how important it was until these members made a point of it. Really helped me nail down a drivable tune instead of getting angry at the truck for being sluggish.

Reactions: X
Make sure you let it warm up before tuning it.

Very good point. If you attempt to do any tuning before it is at operating temperature you will just end up chasing your tail, as far as the tuning goes.

Thanks for all the advice. What is a good warm temperature to start tuning. I have a laser thermometer. Hopefully I will be tuning it later this afternoon. I will keep you posted

get the engine to at least 200 degrees b4 starting to tune on the needles, start with idle and then hi needle, after is running good then start the low needle... the low end usually needs just slight tweaks to make it idle and have enuff snap off the line.....