Making a Roll Cage

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

munarin

Hi I am pretty new to this and love my savage. Only problem is that I can't stop doing things to it. I have read so many posts and threads on making roll cages etc so I am going to give it a go and make one out of delrin or acetal rod (5/8 inches thick) which I got from http://www.indplastic.com/ industrial plastic supply inc. Great to deal with and at $3.58 for 2 feet pretty cheap. I will post all pics and tools with as much detail as I can. Forgive me if I don't get around to answering any questions or posting often but I don't get much time on the computer with work taking up most of my time. So I will take some pics and post them in the next post I do.

Some details about my plans:

I am going to bend it all with a heat gun and make a jig up to do so. The mounts will be out of aluminium. My savage is fairly well standard, the only changes that will effect this is I have a chassis from new era models which extends 1 inch in the rear which allows me to fit the mounts behind the standard tank location. Hope this helps, please bare with me as I will post successes and failures as I go. I don't mind screwing up so someone else doesn't have to.

Pics

Here are a few pics. Pretty basic stuff but hopefully helpful.
This is how I got what shape to cut the aluminium for the mounts. I traced the chassis on a piece of paper and then with a pencil and eraser found the best shape and then cut it out.

IMG_2903.jpg

IMG_2908.jpg

Here is one of my savage for the hell of it.

IMG_2909.jpg

Now I have fairly well done a mock up of the cage out of aluminium. From here I will make a jig from timber and dowel and use this to bend the delrin.
The pics you will see below are just ones I took along the way. Here are the tools I used.

Dremel (not necessary)
Drill
Drill bits
Files and a file cleaner
Pliers
Tin snips
Hammer
Hacksaw
Screw drivers
Heat gun