What makes a motor great?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

deathrage

Hi! I'm still a little new to the hobby and am just trying to understand how everything works.

So the question is "what makes a motor great?" i look at all these motor's that i could eventualy get for my savage XL (that is when the motor dies or i feel like its time to move on to something better) and i start asking why? Why is this motor so great? Or why is this motor so crappy? I have been areound cars for most of my life and understand how they work and there are a few basic fundimetals to what makes a motor great,
1.)displacement
2.)max RPM
3.)fuel delivery/timeing
4.)gearing

Of corse there are many other factors to what makes a motor great, I want to know if the above still holds true to nitro motors or if there are other things that i need to look at as well. Like "why does a larger motor with bigger displacement (k5.9) seem to be beaten completely by a smaller motor (picco .28 p3).

And then the last question to aks is if i were to change out my stock motor (K5.9)) for something better what should i get, keeping in mind that his is going into a pure bashing rig?

for bashing engine your open to anything you want. Hard to go wrong.

If you want to spank your buds trucks while out bashing then you need the rite set-up

In nitro the larger engines (.30 +) don't rev as high as the .28 can thus giving the .28's advantage to spin higher and make power faster and longer than a .30+

Timing on an engine is important, the high end mills are going to have better timing profile then say a 99 dollar mill

gearing : is a preference, if you want all wheelie stands or you want more topend. start at 47/17 see how you like it. you can easily swith the cb to 18 for more topend.

for bashing engine your open to anything you want. Hard to go wrong.

If you want to spank your buds trucks while out bashing then you need the rite set-up