What engine to get 5.9 or or the os .30

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hyespeeder

Hi everyone I am new to this fourm I just got a savage XL

I need a new motor because my sh .28 is not pulling this thing

So i have two choices

hpi 5.9 for 120 buxs used barly brokin in

or

os engines .30 for 150 with like half a gallon

I know the hpi has more hp and more rpm
but the os is more dependable...

Is the 5.9 really a 3.75 hp or is bull

Welcome to the hpisf forum hyespeeder. You've came to the best site for any question or problem you may have with your rc.

Welcome to the forum bro, glad you found us (especially before you spent money on a k5.9.

before you buy a new mill, we should first find out why your sh .28 is not pulling the XL caz, honestly, it should be mopping the floor with a k5.9.

you got this truck used i assume? any pics?

Also, here are a few tips/questions to save you some headache & $$:

1. Please!!! don't buy a used mill/motor. you really don't know the condition or how the last owner treated it or his experience level.

2. For a few dollars more, you can get a brand new mill which will ultimately give you longer life and less headache/hassle.

3. Which country do you live? Members here can help you find the best mill/price.

ya stay clear of the 5.9 if your wanting power as all the hype about the 5.9 has fallen short,most were dissapointed!!!

Last edited by a moderator:
I'm voting for the OS over the 5.9 if that's all your options. Otherwise spend a little more and get the LRP or better yet the Picco. If you can spend more the ERCM Modded Piccos are plain killer.

WOW This forum is amazing I cant belive so many members posted so fast....

I don't know why but when i first registed i was able to make this post but the admins did not let me respond until my account was fully appoved.

Wow so everyone hates that hpi 5.9... I though it would be a good motor 3.75 hp 40krpm ....