The "secret project"

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rcnut14

I give bad advice
IMG_1515.JPG

Ok, so as some of u guys may know, I have a secret project now. so, today, I'm going to show it to u. this is an ertl 8420 john deere. as some of u know, I am a farmer. this was something that I saw on rcsparks. he has an articulating that he started, but never finished. I'm open to suggestions on how just to convert it to rc. I'm thinking of a 1/10 trail truck drivetrain? ill probably go with a 34t brushed motor, and I have an old duratrax esc that ill use. I'm not sure about the radio yet, I depends on what accessories I put on it. I'm going with beadlocks for the tires/rims, and I'm trying to find a small NiMH battery pack. is there a small 7.2v NiMH pack out there? so, ill have to buy some stuff. I'm waiting on my paycheck, so it might be a little while until I start converting it. I hope to start tearing it down soon. ill keep u guys posted!

ok, so ive been working on it a little, and need some help. there's a little pin holding the hood on. how do I get it out? I pushed, pulled, and tried everything. the hood's plastic, so I cant grind it out. also, I cant figure out the wheels. anyone have any experience with these?

IMG_1516.JPG
IMG_1518.JPG
IMG_1519.JPG

Looks like that "pin" is actually a rivet of some kind, prolly grind off the head and punch it thru the body.... far as the rear wheels I need a better pic of what is holding it on. kinda looks like a hex drive of some kind, not sure tho.... you will prolly find the wheels are pressed onto the axles...