Savage xl clutch

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Skyline1473

20161122_225845.jpg hi
I'm new to this so please bare with me. Melted another spur which is my third one but noticed my clutch shoes weren't aligned looking at the cb so took it off for inspection and this is what i found bearing stuck on shaft melted due to heat any suggestion why this happened. Spacers were raised in the centre can anyone suggest how i can remove this please.
Thanks.

Well from what I see somehow that center nut holding on the flywheel has been chewed up by something. so I would hold the flywheel with a pair of channel lock type pliers and remove the flywheel nut... it should remove in a ccw direction... if it is too chewed up you may have to replace the part....

Look at section 4 page 28 in the manual I linked and go from there.....

https://www.hpiracing.com/assets/do...als/115894_vol02_savage_xl_5.9_rtr_060415.pdf

Ive orderd a hardened steel 52t spur to go with my 16t racing clutch bell. With that combination will i get top end speed or better acceleration.

PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!!
Ive replaced the clutch shoes with aluminium shoes but have noticed the spring wont click into the groove on the nut but ive pushed it in. Will that be ok. When i pull out the clutch shoes by hand they wont go back to original position but they close up 2mm out from starting position, will that be ok.

PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!!
Ive replaced the clutch shoes with aluminium shoes but have noticed the spring wont click into the groove on the nut but ive pushed it in. Will that be ok. When i pull out the clutch shoes by hand they wont go back to original position but they close up 2mm out from starting position, will that be ok.

Can you post pictures of this? If the springs are not seating correctly, there is an issue. Is this a positioning issue? Perhaps you need a washer behind the nut?