Savage XL 5.9 engine sealing

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

toolman207

Hi everyone

I just bought myself a Savage XL 5.9 RTR, I'm still waiting for it to turn up but I've read a few people are sealing their engine with silicone gasket around the carb neck and crank case. Is this worth doing before using the truck?
Like the truck I'm brand new here be kind :) The truck is brand new and has all the 2014 mods/upgrades?

thanks in advance

Toolman207

I am new here also, I am new to the Savage XL, but have had other r/c's. I am a casual basher, not an expert. There are many threads that you should read, as I have over the last few weeks. One of the first rules is read the complete manual, second is check everything. Beyond that, locktite all screws that thread into metal. You should check your gear mesh also. You will be learning as you go.

I would say yes to sealing your engine, although I have not done this yet, but I wonder if this cause any issues if you have a warranty claim. Maybe others can advise on this point.

Personally, I had the three screws on the plastic gear in the transmission come lose, caught it before any real damage, but they needed locktite.

I'm new to all this as well and enjoying every moment of it!

Download the .pdf manual and get started on learning about your new toy before it gets there. Also, read up on as many posts you can here and on other forums. Like HPISF's affiliate forum RCTALK.COM . If it wasn't for alot of experienced hobbyists posting threads i'd probably be frustrated and selling my SavX on craiglist!

Definately check your Spur Gear to Clutch Bell Mesh before you run it. Check all the screws to make sure they are tight like GAJ mentioned.

I recommend sealing the engine as it helps with tuning and makes the engine run more reliable.