Savage 25 carb/engine connection

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kgilliland22

Hi all, I am fairly new to the R/C world but was given a Savage 25 by a co-worker a couple of years ago with a suspension problem. I fixed that issue and drove it quite a bit. It ran really well and was a lot of fun. Last year I took the carb off to clean it out and once I put it all back together, I have never been able to keep the carb tight where it mounts to the engine.

I tighten the set screw down as tight as I can but after running it for a couple minutes, the carb will come loose, and the motor will get very hot to where the fuel almost seems to be boiling. I am guessing that is from running lean when the carb comes loose and extra air is added.

Has anyone seen this happen or have any tips? I would like to get this truck going again as my kids are getting old enough to really enjoy it. I am not opposed to putting a new motor on it if there was a simple, direct replacement for it as I know this one has a lot of hours on it. Thanks in advance.

Some RTV (gasket sealant) should help seal it up, but it seems odd that it loosens up like that. Perhaps a dab of blue thread lock could do the trick.

is it possible the isolator has lost its grip on the carb base, a bit of epoxy will keep it in place if it has, take it off the carb bottom clean well and use a bit of epoxy inside it to keep it in place....

Thanks for the reply! I did try sealant and it helped it run a little longer, but eventually it would loosen up and break the sealant. Looking at a schematic for the motor, it looks like there are a couple of wedges that the screw goes into that holds the carb in place. Could those possibly cause an issue?