Roto Start issues

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

The Beast

I had just finished installing some aftermarket parts from Nova R/C ( 3 shoe clutch, billet heat sink and billet cooling head). After I was finished I tried to turn the engine over with the roto start, and it would spin, but the engine would not, I then used a cordless drill in reverse and it would turn the engine over that way. I am just wondering what would cause the engine to not turn the right way , I didn't remove the roto start, and it seemed to work just fine the last time I used it. Any help would be appreciated, as I am new to this vehicle and am LOST right now.:confused:

The one way bearing might have been slipping and when you put the drill on it, that spun it fast enough to grab and spin over the motor. Also if the roto is not fully charged or weak battery it will not spin over the motor.

I agree with savagekicknmaxx. I would think if there was a full charge in roto start it should spin engine.
But the one way bearing on the engine housing may be on the way out. I had to change mine the first year I had the Savage because I would spin it for more than the recomended 5 seconds. It was the first time I owned a nitro vehicle and had a hard time tuning the engine.
One day it will work fine, the next time you use it , it may not work.

ell i have the original roto start and haven't had any probs with it with 2 gallons and working on the third.

I have snapped the shafts from the motor in the roto start off, and broken the buttons a few times, on the first gen.