New X will not start

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

YimmytheTulip

Hi all,
Yes another newbie...Just recieved my X for my BDay and it's awesome! - to look at that is at this stage anyway :-(. It's my first R/C so I'm very new at this. I also got the purple HPI Racing Tuning Pipe and a Bigger airfilter. Now from the type of person I am and this my be the problem (doubt it though). I fitted the new pipe and air filter before even starting the engine for the first time. Now that I'm ready to rumble - I can't get it to start. I've done quite a bit of investigation through the threads on this forum etc. I've lubed the engine, primed as per the norm etc. etc. It seems to flood quite often and if it doesn't flood it just won't take. I have checked, double checked, triple checked all the steps but must be missing something. How do I ensure I don't flood it so often? What else can I check to get it running. I'm going nuts not to be able to hear that engine and would really like to complete running in this weekend. Any advise will be greatly appreciated

The pipe and filter wouldn't make a big difference. Have you ensured that your glow ignitor was fully charged and that your glow plug was good? Swap out the plug just to be on the safe side. Hopefully you're not using just a plain jane C cell ignitor, if so, change that battery also....

Try replacing the glow plug. flooding the engine will definatly kill a plug if it is severe enough. In order not to flood it, be careful when priming it. the motor doesnt take very much fuel at all to start.

Welcome aboard BTW :)

Yup, got that side covered, got 2 spare plugs for justin. The ignitor is rechargable and I check the plugs each time after sorting the flooding out and all's good. I haven't popped a plug yet even after way too many floods.