just got a 4.1 savage x trans problems

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

2dxtreme

i just purchased a slightly used 4.1 and went to use it the first time and the trans won't shift out of first. i had a hobby shop look at it and he said that the internals all look good just hasn't been run in while and thinks it just needs some lubricating. does this sound about right? we did try adjusting back to the stock setting and still didn't shift before the tear down of the tranny. we tried all the adjustments shown on hpi's website still nothing. I'm gonna call him on monday to see what he found out for me. could it be engine tuning preventing the trans from shifting? I'm new to all this rc stuff so I'm not 100 percent sure on the tuning. when i was running it in first gear there was a nice blue smoke trail coming out of the exhaust so i know thats good i just can't adjust anything else without it shifting. any help is greatly appreciated

If the engine is too rich and not reaching the high rpms it will not shift. One of my savages wont shift until 200 degrees. Try screwing the high speed needle in a quarter turn and see if it shifts, just make sure it doesn't get lean.

Welcome to the forum... The hobby shop is WRONG !!!!! need no lubrication in the tranny.... How does the engine run is it boggy ?

I thing you need to lean it out a bit. on the top end doing this should help the rpm's increase and then the tranny will shift..

KEEP US POSTED BRO and welcome to hpisf..... you know where to come when you need help, stay clear of the hobby store for advise, UNLESS they really know what there talking about.. in this case I don't think they do. if you lube your tranny you will screw up the clutches in there and then you will have bigger problems ..