How To Heat Cycle Your Engine For Newbies & Pros

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

soulja

Virginia Beach Beast
i was on the forum today and heard a fellow member saw he didn't what was or how to heat cycle and engine. well until a year or two ago i didn't know how either and i've been doing this for 8+ years. well...after internet searching a year ago i found this thread. It is buy Ron Paris...and racing legend that has now past. well...after i sat down and read this i saw a lot of good info and some tips ....and i consider myself to be a halfway decent vet of nitro. since i have this... i have done ALL my engines like this..and experience nothing but power and long life out of his method. i thought i would share it all with you!! here is his complete write up....and it is awesome...so try to read it all.

most top engine builders actually use that method i think or atleast something simular!!

Ok let me just makes sure I got this right.

Read instructions first.

1-Idle with wheels off the ground for 2-3 min
2-Cool @ btc
3-Idle with wheels off the ground for 2-3 min
4-Cool @ btc
5-Idle with wheels off the ground for 2-3 min
6-Cool @ btc
7-Idle with wheels off the ground for 2-3 min
8-Cool @ btc

Set on the ground and run around for 3-4 tanks without making any needle adjustments. Says to blip throttle to avoid speeding too much time in one rpm range.
---->Blip means a quick throttle or slowly run it up and release?
Allow to cool between tanks.

@ about 6-8 tanks start leaning out @ 1hr increments but don't let her scream yet. Run a few more tanks like this then let her rip.

Then start working on the lsn. If idles fast and slows down in a few seconds then it's rich. Should idle high for about 20 sec
-->after the 20 sec should it die?

Move to the idle. Set at a moderate rpm without allowing the wheels to turn.

I didn't want to cut and paste the manuel instead write what I got out of it.