How many savage types reccomend me one

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

keane

Hi, I'm a bit of a newbie and am looking in to getting my first savage but unsure which one to go for.
I'm looking to spend about £400 maybe a wee bit more if it makes a difference and i been looking around and am a bit confused, am i right in saying that there are a few types of savages about ie 46, x , ss , xl or wotever, can someone reccomend me one as don't know much difference, i will prob be just tearaing along the field doing few jumps over hills and my 4yr old son having a go with it. i know they are kinda tough as this is my main reason for getting one... TIA

You can't go wrong with any Savage if you are looking for a backyard basher. There is none finer.

But all of them are a lot of beast to hand over to 4 year old. Just make sure you are familiar with it before that happens. :)

These things can seriously damage you or your property.

The newest ones out right now and the best IMO is the X 4.6 RTR and then the newest XL. The XL comes with a few upgrades but some people don't like the motor because of it being mostly bottom end, but I have not run one so don't take my word on that. I am running a X 4.6 RTR right now and love it. Very strong and fast for a RTR motor IMO.

Welcome Keane. The SS is a 'kit' meaning that you have to assemble it & (i believe) buy the radio equipment separately. The x4.6 rtr & xl 5.9 rtr are 'ready to run' meaning you don't have to assemble them & they come with radio equipment. You just buy batteries, nitro fuel & a glow ignitor & you can take it out in the field & let 'er rip.
Here in the US, the xl is appx $130.00 more than the x 4.6 & comes with many upgraded parts (not to mention a bigger engine and longer/lower chasis) that, if you plan to purchase separately for your 4.6 later on (the boat that i'm in) will cost you considerably more.