Help from the experts please

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ditchlight

It's been a while since I posted on here looking for help , but due to some hard driving my nephew pretty much destroyed every cup imaginable on his Savage Flux XS, so it's been out of commission. Now while I was replacing all those parts I also decided to replace the pinion gear to the 24T-48P and the idler gear 32-T-60T-48P. I have noticed the motor has gotten significantly louder, is that normal when changing out gears? I checked and the meshing looks good to me, but I am new to being a mechanic for RC's and figured I would ask before this became another problem I had to fix.

Thanks for your input

Patrick

Last edited:
I changed my idler gear to the 32T/60T idler and the 26T pinion, and I didn't notice a major change in the noise the truck made, though I'm only running 2S batteries.

Did you make sure to position the motor in the correct mounting holes as shown on page 26 of the manual?
http://hpiracing.world/assets/documents/instruction_manuals/110712-savage_xs-glb-m-v4.pdf

If so, then your gear mesh is fine.

Some questions that might be relevant: Why the gear change? Are you running 3S LiPo packs? Did you switch from 2S to 3S at the same time as the gear change? Are you running bigger tires?

I double checked the mounting, pretty sure I did use the correct mounting as I needed the manual for everything I have changed or had to replace. Although I noticed the center shaft, with the drive gear has a fair amount of play in it around, not so much back and forth, to the point where I can put a bit of pressure on it and it won't even touch the idler gear. Is that supposed to be loose or is there a way to lock that center in place too?