Engine not turning over

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Too Tall

Hi Everyone,

So here is my problem, I have the stock engine in my Savage X 4.6. I hadn’t run it in about a week, and when I pulled it out to run it, it would not turn over. The engine will turn over if I spin the flywheel around, however if I put the Roto-Start into its alloted area and turn it on the engine will not turn over. Does anyone know how to fix this? Thank you in advance!

Alex

OWB has probably gone bad. You can take it out and clean it up with denatured alcohol or wd-40 and it should work, but this will only be temporary. You will need to get a new OWB. I recommend you go to a pullstart also since they are not as hard on a OWB. Good Luck!

Thank You! But one problem! I'm new to nitro and I don't know what OWB means! Sorry! But switching to a pullstart does sound like a good idea!

Just to clarify, the roto start IS spinning but the motor is NOT? If the roto won't spin the motor is flooded. I had that problem today and I could not get the motor to start and it kept locking my roto but I think it was cause my engine is relatively new and I live where it is pretty cold and I can't warm up the motor.

Correct the Roto-Start is spinning however the engine is not. I took the GP out of it and used a flash light to look into it. While i was looking into it I used the Roto-Start, and the piston just sat there as if nothing was happening.

that is the OWB. It is not grabbing like Allan said. I have also heard of ruffing the shaft that goes in it lightly. after cleaning it that is.