Deciding on gearing 5.9 Xl

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hello guys,

I am new to the site and new to the RC Car/truck world. I have flown planes for over 6 yrs and wanted to venture into the rc car world a little on windy days. I have zero knowledge when it comes to nitro trucks. I picked me up a XL 5.9 RTR and only had for a month. I got passed the tuning which my previous knowledge with glow really helped with that!! Now I am wanting to do a little gearing on the truck but I am a little confused on ordering. My questions are
How do I know what spur gear will work?
Are the spur gears for certain trucks or motors?
Is there anything I should look for beside the actual tooth count ie....certain shaft sizes?
I have done a lot of research but cant really find these things. I am looking for a 48/16 setup which seems to work pretty good and not very aggressive. When I search the tooth and find a gear it list specific to .21 size trucks and it throws me off. Any help will be greatly appreciated for a new guy to the hobbie!!!!!

A lot of the stuff you come accross has been around since the savage 21, so that's how they are listed.

HPI did deviate a couple times on spurs, once on an SS or X, they tried a dual pad slipper that failed miserably and in recent years with the higher horsepower rigs (and octane), then went straight to a steel spur. All the spurs except for the dual pad spur are interchangeable if they come with pads. I know the octane has a differently molded pad, but otherwise seems the same.

Thanks a lot. Do you think I should upgrade shows? I am just going to be running around the yard and maybe racing a little with a friend on a track he built. Trying to not get to deep into this but I have a "get the best" mentality and the fastest.LOL