Clutch Shoes

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bildad

OK, so my truck is running great, the tune is sweet now, After sealing up the engine and Carby thanx to this forum and the collective information on offer here by you's all, adding an extra bit of fuel line with a loop has cured the mid tank lean problem as well. I am going through 2.5 Litres of fuel (that's a bit over half gallon for you non metric people) a week and the inevitable has happened, I need new clutch shoes.
Here in Oz, stock clutch shoes cost $80 au for shoes, no springs!!! and as I am a noob to all this I have a couple of questions.
1. Are all the clutch shoes/clutch setups interchangeable between all savage trucks?
2. The integy clutch kits are inexpensive by comparison are they as good as the stock aluminium shoes? (I know about the different spring tensions and counter weights) I just want to know if they last even nearly as long as the stock ones? I know having a high idle with the clutch engaging nearly all the time will wear shoes out quicker.
3. Savage X clutch kits are also way cheaper than stock XL shoes is it worth going down this path or are the Savage X owners swapping over to the XL shoes?
4. Dynamite Max Life shoes, I haven't seen them advertised with springs do stock xl springs fit these shoes? If not what springs do you put with them and which model shoe IE, DYNP5180?
Any other tips are welcome and I thank you fellow Savage owners for your contributions as you have made problem solving of the common issues very easy to overcome.
May your truck always be upright and your glow plugs never burn out.
Cheers,
Stu.

What is making you say you need new shoes? I believe the stock should last much, much longer than what you got. Perhaps there is another issue?

To answer your questions as i know them:
1. Yes