better slipper

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

blown68ssrs

I am having problems with the slippers on my savage. Bottom out, 1/8 turn back.
They don't last a tank. It is happening to both of my savage.
Any better slippers in the market?
Thanks

I read somewhere to sand the slipper plate with a 220-paper, just to take the shinyness away, and to run it all tight.
I have no personal experience doing this though, I just got myself an octane, only relaying what I read on another forum.

Ordered some ceramic pads. Will report back.
I tried the scuff up the pressure plate with sand paper with the std clutch. It still didn't work.

I have consider Robinson as well. It will be my next option if the ceramic pads don't hold up.
DO you run hardened steel bell with your set up?
I had steel spur on mine when I bought the truck. It ended up chewing up the standard bell.

I have consider Robinson as well. It will be my next option if the ceramic pads don't hold up.
I had steel spur on mine when I bought the truck. It ended up chewing up the standard bell.
Yes, Let me say that I didn't have issues with my slipper unit. I switched BC the Robinson has bearings and I like the bearings and I used a hardened bell that would eat up the slipper so I just changed. If you are eating gears the robinson could kill your trans.

My issue is the slipper clutch disc. The ceramic pads should be here in a week. Will report back.
Cheers

Seeing as the Robinson stuff is EXTRA Hard, yes you should always use a matching bell or it will eat the bell gear in a hurry.....

Got the ceramic pad. With the single disc set up, 1/8 turn from the bottom, spur will turn but truck won't move. Going to try the dual discs set up next.

Got the ceramic pad. With the single disc set up, 1/8 turn from the bottom, spur will turn but truck won't move. Going to try the dual discs set up next.