Uh-oh, or oh no!

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

smokinhydes1

Ok, the Savage has been sizzling across the lawn and back for a couple weeks now. Ran out of fuel and the guys at the hobby store sold me 30% helicopter fuel. I added it to what was left in the tank <about 1/3> and fired it up. I warm it up for my son because I know what will happen if I set him free with the machine cold. It warmed up fine, I ran it WO for a couple seconds to make sure there was a good trail of smoke <there was> and let off the gas to give the control to Andy. It stalled, has restarted many many times for a couple seconds but no matter what I do it won't run once the motor is under load ie-it runs fine when the wheels are off the ground but dies no more than 10 feet away when I put it down. I am a marine mechanic by trade, and when a jet ski acts this way the motor is hurt. Could that little bit more nitro have wounded this thing? I took the glow plug out and looked in, piston isn't scarred on top at least.:eek:

Oh GOOD!

They told me it has MORE lube. I called and asked about it when they opened and they said they would tune it for me. I got there with it and they asked me to leave it overnight. What do you bet that I get it back tommorow along with being told I need to break it in again? And a gallon of the proper fuel?:D

maybe it`s got the wrong lube.
heli-and aircraft engines run at lower rpms, high rpm engines normally require thinner oil than low rpm engines.
I just checked the os max site and a .32 heli engine revs at 21.000 rpm and
the f4.1 engine revs almost twice as high.
my guess is that the oil is too thick and doesn`t lubricate properly at over 35.000 rpm.

smokinhydes1 said: