Total newb, hpi engine 3.5

Tiddy

I am a newb, I've ordered a new 3.5 hpi engine along with 3 pin flywheel and clutch kit and bell, how do I install these please?
Also I've noticed carb is set half open on low speed needle (I think) do I need to adjust it or leave all needles alone? And adjust my arm on servo?

ManMgn

the hsn and lsn should be flush. the idle gap which is the opening when the carb is fully closed should be 0.5 - 1mm wide.
flywheel + shoe assembly

Attachments

• rc-carb-basics.jpg
    rc-carb-basics.jpg
    37.2 KB · Views: 1
  • download.jpg
    download.jpg
    9 KB · Views: 1
Last edited:

Tiddy

I'm now breaking my first ever engine in, I've started it but wheels spin at high speed, what do I do,? Please help

Tiddy

When I remove glow starter it stalls, and now won't start at all it is nor flooded

Tiddy

I'm feeling really annoyed I thought new engine would work but I've spent 3 hours trying to get it running to break in engine but the wheels were going full tilt so stopped it, tried adjusting idle but made no difference at all, I can do with some serious helpless asap

ManMgn

I'm feeling really annoyed I thought new engine would work but I've spent 3 hours trying to get it running to break in engine but the wheels were going full tilt so stopped it, tried adjusting idle but made no difference at all, I can do with some serious helpless asap
If its stalling when igniter is removed that indicates the needles are too rich, thus the fuel is outing the plug. lean out the needles 1/8 of a turn at a time until it starts. increase the idle gap slightly and lean out the lsn till it starts. do 1/16 of a turn at a time clockwise.

ManMgn

I'm now breaking my first ever engine in, I've started it but wheels spin at high speed, what do I do,? Please help