Savage X 4.6 RTR break-in

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

raymond

Hello all, newbie here!
I have just bought a Savage X 4.6. Read the manual carefully and started the break-in procedure. I am sad to say that it hasn’t been as smooth as I wanted it.
I put it on a stand and primed the engine. My first silly mistake was inserting the Rotostart wrongly and scratching its shaft a little bit. Instead of having it go above the bumper, stupid me tried inserting it through the hole in the bumper… I can’t believe I didn’t notice earlier.

Anyways, I started it and once started, it idled for a few seconds then started revving up. Wheels started spinning like crazy. Turned it off, turned it back on and set the trim via the transmitter. Wheels no longer spun (this was a big mistake on my part).

While idling, there was smoke coming from the engine area. I honestly DID find it peculiar, but I figured it would be oil from the factory that could have been on the engine (sorry if this sounds stupid). Oh boy, I know the reason behind the smoke now. The spur gear is stripped and there are black plastic bits all over the area. I have already ordered two spur gears just in case I strip another one. Clutch bell gear had tons of melted plastic from the spur, but I cleaned it. Forgetting it's a steel CB, I initially thought it was chewed too.

I have contacted HPI and they have said that it’s normal for the wheels to spin at idle during break-in and that I should let them. I have already meticulously taken apart the truck to remove the engine to check the condition of the clutch. It seems to be fine. I am going to be replacing the Philips screw (the one that goes in the shaft and holds the clutch bell) with a high tensile hex of the same dimensions (obviously).