Savage wont shift into second

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rouskie

Hey guys! This will be my first thread here because i am kind of new to the RC world. i have enjoyed it a lot so far but i am at a dead end and cant figure out why my savage 4.6 wont shift. I got it off of a classifieds site and traded it for a pocket bike i got for $15 and it wasn't running at first but it was just a compression problem and i got it running great! it worked flawlessly for about a week and then mid run the rpms went way up and the speed slowed down. i figured out this was due to the slipper clutch and fixed that issue, but when i took it out again i realized it isn't shifting to second gear. this is just a two speed and i have tried adjusting the timer grub screw on the clutch but it doesn't seem to do anything. i have pulled apart the gear box to see if there was a broken piece but everything seems to be in good shape. if i rev it and hold it on the ground the clutch spur gear doesnt spin so i don't think its a problem with the clutch.... I'm sure a lot of my terms aren't right in this thread because i don't know a ton about these yet but hopefully you get the point! i was just wondering if anyone could help me identify the problem? i have torn the thing apart so i know generally how it works, but if possible make it as simple to understan knowing I'm just an amateur! thanks a ton!

I would check the clutch.

also, be sure that you're adjusting that right grub screw in the tranny. there's 2 of them. one is the adjustment screw, the other keeps the clutch( or shifter) on.

I would check the clutch.

also, be sure that you're adjusting that right grub screw in the tranny. there's 2 of them. one is the adjustment screw, the other keeps the clutch( or shifter) on.
is there any way to tell if its the clutch? would i have to just pull it apart?