Savage racing set up, Questions?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Larsenracing

Manufacturer
Hey guys, I just got another savage. Its a 25 and has a FLM Extended LCG chassis with skid plate, Axial .28 Spec1, Wing W/Mount, 15/49 gearing, 2 Speed, X steering servo saver W/Bearings, HS-5645MG Steering servo and some nub tires, Futaba Fasst 2.4 GHz 3pm Radio, Skyline Pipe, LiPo Hump pack.

I am looking for some info for setting this thing up the best it can be as I'm new to racing. Is there anyother parts I need? The main thing I am looking for is help with setup like diff fluid, alignments, ect? here is a pict of the truck from the side.

P1010976.jpg

P1010878.jpg

I know practice, practice, practice but need more info.

Last edited by a moderator:
Bud I would say that you have the truck depending on what you are racing.

I run the Panther Pythons 40 series on the same rims that you have and love it for the track.

If you are racing off road I would try and get it to sit higher than it is now.

Take it to where you are racing at and run it and see what changes need to be made.

Always have a few different gear combos, I like to have different combos because I race at 3 different tracks and at each track I basically need a different combo.

Hey Larsen. If you are looking to race the savage, the best diff fluid setup I

have found is 10,000 front, 2,000 rear. With this fluid setup, it will track

anywhere you point it, even on the slickest track. Looks like the truck is

setup pretty well for racing. You may want to get some different springs and

play with them on the jumps and in the turns. I found the blue/purple spring

per wheel works best for me on stock shocks in the front. You also may want

to play around on some ramps to see how your suspension is preloading

coming off the ramp. Looks like the way it sitting, it looks like the back would

want to come over pretty quickly.