Requesting Break-In Advice

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ElocFSU

Hey guys,

A friend and I just received our new Savage X 4.6s. We started the break-in process today. Went well for me - I completed 2 idle tanks with wheels off the ground and finished my third tank with wheels down and half throttle bursts. Looking good so far (I think, but I'm no expert), although I do want to share some observations and ask if you had similar experiences. I'll do that in my next post, since there is a more pressing issue.

My buddy's luck was not as good as mine. Even though we checked his gear mesh to the best of our abilities before start up, his truck managed to strip the spur gear about 5 minutes into his first tank at idle. Disappointing obviously. I saw that something was wrong when all wheel spin stopped. I looked closer and saw that the clutch bell was spinning but the spur gear was completely still. The engine sounded fine but once I saw the spur gear troubles we shut it down.

So, a few questions. First off, should we have shut it down? Personally, I figured you should never continue running if you see an obvious problem. Engine sounded fine but, as I say, the clutch bell was no longer engaged with the spur. Hope I made the right call. Guess the counter argument could be that the spur gear was already done for, why not continue break in? Not sure what would have happened in that case (with no mechanical load on the engine).

Next, how should we proceed? Obviously we'll change the spur (we ordered a few spares) and try to make sure the mesh is good. Then I figure we'll restart break-in, basically from scratch. Anything else to consider?

Lastly, given what occurred, is there anything else that might have been damaged that we need to check out before the next attempt? Or is it likely only the spur and we change it out and proceed?