Piston Head Pitting

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
hi i was wondering if anyone knew what causes a never opened k4.6 to have pitting on the piston head? i have run, maybe, 3/4 a gallon through the engine, and i recently took her apart and noticed the pitting on the piston head.

could this be a cause of over-heating? the glowplug seems to be working fine, its the same one the engine came with. i try to run the engine rich, because i am a newbie, and i want to put a good length of time on her before rebuilding her.

anyone else run into this problem?

some things that might do it are a lean condition or geting dirt down the glo plug hole,running to hot of a plug there are many.what sort of temps are you runnig at?

i try to keep it at around 250-300MAX, i have occasionally run it at 320 a few times, but not for very long. i have the venom on board temp gauage, so i can reference the highest temp when i bring it back to me to check. how long should it take for the engine to get past its optimal heat? i usually run it at an outside temp of 20 to 24 degrees C.

but between destroying 2 clutch bells because the mesh was off and a busted oil damper, i haven't given her much attention. lol, stupid savage! but right now I'm waiting to get time off work to get a new clutch, then go back to factory on my settings and bring her up to speed again.

by the way, do you knw how to mesh up a metal spur and clutch bell? lol, I'm such a noob!

yes it sounds to me like you may have been running a little lean as 320 degrees is to hot, hpi reccomends not getting the temps over 250 degress but thats just a guideline and some engines do run a bit hotter but 320 is pretty extreme!!

Without a doubt a lean conditon. My lrp was suffering from this. I figured out the HSN oring was letting air slip by. My piston and head button look like they were sandblasted.