P&P: Axial 28 Spec 1S, My first one!

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Larsenracing

Manufacturer
Well, I decided to take one of my Axial 28 Spec 1S engines last night which has been run in my basher and do some porting and polishing on it. This is my first time for doing this so I hope i’m doing it right. Anyhow, I got a start on porting things but haven’t even started polishing anything yet so its rough. I am using my dermal with a stone grinding but next time will get a carbide bit. Here are a few picts of the sleeve which is the only thing I’ve done so far.
movie019.jpg

movie020.jpg

Stock Exhaust port
movie023.jpg

Can you guys see am I doing anything wrong?

Also, what do I all need to do to the Crank other than polish it?

Is there some cutting I should do to the skirt of the piston?

If any of you have picts of a Axial 28 Spec 1S modded can you please post then here as I would like to see others jobs. I will post more picts as I go.

Looks good to me but I am just going by what ive seen in pictures from Crash.

On the crank I have seen some post where people (might even of been from the same person??) say they fill it with this, I don't know the reasoning but might be worth looking into.

http://www.powersportsnetwork.com/accessoriesdetail/product=214077/levelcode=4089/catalog=1982/Kawasaki+ATV+Accessories/ThreeBond%AE+1211+Sealant/accessories214077.htm

I would thik the ultra copper would be as good or better as I believe it has a higher temp rating.

Now I just gatta find a place that has the polishing bits. All I found locally at lunch is the felt wheels with polishing compound which may work but will take forever and they arnt vary fine. I will stop by craftsman and see if they have anything when I get home. I hope they have them as I really want this thing running by this weekend and there is no way it will be if I have to order online.

Thnaks shiftpoint by the way.