New to HPI, Savage and Octane.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

clint

Hey all,

Been into R/C for many years. Bought my first HPI two days ago, waiting for it to arrive.

Bought a mint Savage Octane on eBay. Owner said it runs, drives, no flaws or scratches, has been broke in.

I see a lot of problems with these trucks, just trying to get a feel for validity of problems.

I am new to 2 strokes on such a small scale, am well aware of tuning and break in when it comes to the fore mentioned.

I purchased (2) new spark plugs, a Spektrum radio, new air filters, VP full synthetic 2 stroke oil, dynamite charger, infared temp gun, batteries etc.

Downloaded updated instruction manual, will reset to factory settings and assume it hasn't been run in yet.

Looking for advice on the savage octane. I appreciate any experience with the truck and ask that anyone with two stroke know how chime in. My idea is to run it as rich as possible at first, to save the piston/sleeve. Will lean out for performance...after 4-5 tanks. See people saying that 20 tanks is about what it takes for full break in.

Don't mind fouling countless plugs to get the engine right.

Anything I should keep in the way of spares?

Thanks again.

Clint, welcome to the forum.

I do not have an Octane, but have followed people's trials and tribulations as I thought an Octane would be a great next R/C. There are a few Octane owners on the forum, some with great experiences, some with poor experiences. I personally feel that there are quality problems with the build of the engine, and CDI issues.

Hopefully you have a good experience.

@Mark Walters thank you sir. I won't be able to go just one a day this weekend :). Bought me a temp gun, so I'll let it cool completely before each tank

Any recommendation on oil? Bought Vp race fuels synthetic 2 stroke. See a lot of people running good ole lawn boy for break in