HPI adjustable suspension upper arms suck

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

adamskii

So i scored a set of the adjustable upper arms for my savvy X ( the HPI ones - hey they were FREE !) installed them, and get this.. even when the turnbuckle is wound in so the arm is at its shortest length, the camber of the tyres is still POSITIVE by at least 5 degrees.

Ok so i am new to all this.. but.. wouldnt the purpose of this hop up be add adjustability (both + and - camber) especially with a bias towards negative camber? maybe the savvy X has some wider diff box or something that forces the adjustment wider?

Anyone else know of this problem ? the only solution I have is to physically cut the plastic ends shorter by around 2 - 3 mm each end of the turnbuckles bolt head so it can wind in further and hence reduce length etc etc camber finally where i want it ... any other solutions would be appreciated before i chop stuff. Hmm a chopper HPI, wonder what the boys at OCC could do with that ? lol (chopper as in the motorcycle)

Adaam

Last edited by a moderator:
hmm well i've got the SS4.6 and mine has adjustable upper arms to.. is can turn them to zero dergrees but then they are almost completly turned in
and i also cant get en positive camber..... but i don't race it i think the solution you have thought of is the best solution for it.... a HPI chopper????.. ow and the arms don't suck.. they are a lot stiffer and stronger than the standard ones...

yup. same problem here!
Am I a retard who has assembled them the wrong way?
Oh well.. I AM a retard but I didn`t assemble them the wrong way.
I have set them to 0 degrees as well.
I`ve been thinking about cutting them off also but how do I get them perfect?
I mean within a 0.05 mm tolerance.
maybe I can make shorter turnbuckles myself but I`m not capable of making
left/right turnbuckles myself.
only thing I can think of now is just a shorter piece of thread.