How to pick what size LiPo you need?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wilson

I have my eye on a truck I may be thinking about buying here sometime but I am a total noob to electric rc's so I really don't know much about anything to do with them.

Is there a easy way to find out what size of a LiPo you need to power the rc? I know any LiPo will power it but what I'm wanting to know if there is some kind of way to get a average for run time.

I am getting mixed findings on what size that would work best, I'm seeing that some people say a 5000mah is fine and others say you need a bigger one.

Since I really don't have much of an idea I would just kind of like to know how to figure out what I am going to need. I would rather understand what I need rather go off what I read in forums lol.

I'm not sure how yiu go about figuring it. I usually go with the biggest I can afford.
That being said, its difficult to figure, because there's no standard for labeling them. Its almost as bad as car audio was 15 years ago. Some rate this way, some rate that way. It's especially bad with the C rating. I would recommend a minimum 5000 mah with a minimum 35C discharge rate.
SPC sells good stuff. Venom has a terrific warranty. I also hear good things about SMC and MaxAmps. MaxAmps is more expensive than the rest, but are highly regarded. I've never had SMC or MaxAmps so I can't personally recommend them. I have a couple Duratrax lipos I'm happy with. I use them on a Mamba Monster system and they keep up in a 12 pound rig geared for 70 mph. (In fact they kept up way better than the rig itself)

Hope that didn't further confuse the issue.

Thsts kind of what I was thinking also, Basically just get what I can afford. SMC sells a 9000 that isn't really that aweful expensive but I didn't want to get something so big unless it was actually needed.