hot batteries!

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

derikmills

Any reason why my batteries and and deans connectors get so hot? They never used too. Motor and esc aren't getting hot. Just deans connections and battery cases. Seems to be both sets of batteries too.

Resistance is the only reason for things to get hot, check all your connections for cold solder joints and such.....

Makes sense. I'm really terrible at soldering. I make it work, but it's ugly. Maybe that's my problem. Never noticed it before a couple days ago though. I'll check it out. Thank you for your suggestion. Any soldering tips are appreciated. Hehe

Get an iron at least 40 watt with a chisel tip and practice practice practice. use rosin core solder and always have a hot iron. practice is your best bet. I have been soldering for 40 years and it gets easier when you do it, take an old connector or motor and practice......
You can buy a decent iron at most hardware stores and they really don't cost that much at all.....

All I have is rising core and I have 180watt industrial gun, but I clearly don't know what I'm doing. Obviously need the practice.

Lose that soldering gun. Ace or True Value, Walmart, among many others sell an Iron for less than 20 bux and it outsolders a gun 100 to 1......
Rosin core is fine for most electrical duties, just make sure the joint is shiny and not dull which denotes a cold (more resistance) solder job.... as I said practice and practice some more..... post up a couple pics and lets see how it looks please......