Hmmm....front wheels turning .....rear wheels not!

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Armageddon_1

Hi all..........name is Blake and I'm new to the hobby. Just got my Savage X 4.6 on Sept. 11 /08 . I made the mistake of buying a cheap 1/8 off the internet in July......after only breaking in the engine more parts than i care to mention were failing. I saw the light:cheers: and bought a Savage. I have already worn the teeth off my first spur geer. Local hobby shop guy set me straight on that. Now .....everything was running fine.....I thought I would just slightly tune it better in my driveway,.....was turning the truck around on the neighbours front yard ....and she stopped. I could hit the throttle and engine was wailing but no forward movement. I have since looked at things I have seen on this forum......dogbones are fine, ......not sure what they mean by the grub (set) screws on the drive cups for the center drive line, but everything else seems ok. Just not sure what to do next. Front wheels spin when the throttle is pressed with the wheels off the ground,.....they just wont drive the vehicle forward (and back wheels don't spin at all). I spin the back wheels one at a time and the opposite wheel spins opposite direction. I hold all three wheels and spin one of the back wheels and I get opposition...in other words it wants to spin but can't cause I'm holding it?? Any help greatly appreciated to this newbie. Cheers

Last edited by a moderator:
The grub screws which are mentioned are set screws which connect the drive cups to the transmission and also to the front and rear differentials. these screws are notorious for coming out. Since your front wheels are working and the rear is not, 99% sure its those screws.