CDI shutdown

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Basher72

I got an Octane day before yesterday in a trade, thought I wanted gas, not so much now. I have scanned the forums and do not see this exact problem. Truck starts easy, runs ok, with the exception of the transmission not shifting. The transmission problem will wait. Truck runs 4 to 6 minutes and shuts off and will not restart. I am an auto tech so I know basic engine diagnosis. I pulled the plug and checked for spark and had non, let it cool for 5 minutes bam its back and starts right up. I replaced the CDI module with a known good unit, does the same thing. It has plenty of compression when heated up, no fuel problems, and plug looks brand new and clean. The only thing I can come with is the crank sensor. Anyone else have this problem before or have any ideas?

Still, try a different plug. Swap plug directly after it stops, and see if it won't start up right away again.
Ok I will that thanks. The NGK 5812 shows the same specs as the HPI plug, and it's a forth the cost. Will it work?

Hi, I have a similar problem (runs and then stops, wait 10 minutes and then all good, only to be repeated again) here in Hungry with temperatures currently up at 34-37 degrees centigrade. Is the ambient temperature a factor ? My truck is also new (Version 1) and I have now gone through 3 tanks in the running-in phase (my gearbox is also not changing up, but am less worried about this for the time being). Any help would be appreciated.