Best out of the box, non-modded engine?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Axoman

My wife has been asking me what I want for Christmas, so I suggested a new engine for the Savage.

From searching on here, I've narrowed the engine choices down to the LRP .28 spec 3 and the Picco non-turbo .28.

Which is more user friendly and reliable? Which has best performance?

Please keep in mind that I don't plan on modding them at this point, so stock for stock, which is the better choice?

There is a $30 between the two, is the Picco worth the extra money?

I'm no expert when it comes to engines, but I'm pretty sure unmodded the LRP .28 is the better of the two.
(But if you were to mod them the Picco wins.)

I'm no expert when it comes to engines, but I'm pretty sure unmodded the LRP .28 is the better of the two.
(But if you were to mod them the Picco wins.)

That's kind of what my research on the site suggests as well. But it also appears some people have more trouble with the LRP.

In terms of reliability and longevity, is one much better than the other?

What about parts? I've seen threads where people say they have a hard time finding pistons/sleeves for the LRP.

Forgot to add that I run the LRP Z.28R Spec 3 (unmodded) with an ERCM end bleed pipe and it is awesome! Huge power and high rpm's.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Admin-Bank edit/fail

Mike what Part of this text is yours here below( I made a opsy) :

LRP's can be found cheap enough that it's not really worth investing in piston sleeves anyway. I think others will probably agree. I got mine for $160 brand new. I don't know what piston and sleeves normally cost but I believe it's more than half of that. Your better off just getting a whole new mill when it wears out.