1. Ask questions. Share your HPI Savage knowledge. Register TODAY!

Welcome to HPISavageForum, a friendly forum to discuss the Savage RC Truck.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
  • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
  • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting.
  • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Barn find savage 25

Discussion in 'HPI Savage' started by Isawdemise, May 18, 2017.

1. Isawdemise

Isawdemise New Member

I was out going to yard sales and found a Savage 25 for 25 bucks and have always wanted to try the rc hobby so I got it. Came with boxes of brand new spare parts. Has stock engine.

I got it started a few times when I give it gas it dies. So I took it all apart and found a big crack in the carb. It's almost in two peices. Now I'm very new to this as in it's my first nitro RC.
    So what's a good direct fit engine that's under 100 I can put In? One that comes with a carb and full setup with piston and heatsink.

2. NitroNick

NitroNick Member

You don't need another engine you just need a new stock carb! Try looking for one on Ebay or something and throw that on there, no need to replace the S25 engine, but it would help if you made sure it was cleaned and everything seems to be moving freely. Also check the glow plug in the engine to make sure that still gets hot, you can get those for like $5.

It's just easier to go through something and inspect it when you get it and smart to change out any wear parts.

Send some pics so we can see what you're working with man

3. NightFlier X4.6

NightFlier X4.6 Well-Known Member

Welcome to the forum isawdemise

4. NightFlier X4.6

Great find also. And yes pics please

5. Isawdemise

Isawdemise New Member