airbrush tips

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

maximusraylius

hey guys .. i see alot of ppl been getting interested in airbrushing their own lids lately so i figured id make this thread to kinda help out . and maybe other ppl that know about airbrushing /brushes ect will chime in aswell cause I'm by far a pro at any of this but I'm learning as i go and self taught. any ways hope this will help out some of you thats interested in trying it out ..

I'm going to try to explain the different types of brushes and what i like to look for when buying them as well as what i like to use the different types for ..

a few things i look for when buying my air brushes ..

i like to make sure its an internal mix... meaning the paint actually goes into the airbrush cavity where it then mixes with the air presure you have set your regulator at.. making it flow nice n smooth rather than an external mix type that basically blows air through the brush while the paint gets picked up by a syphon tube then blows off the tip of the pic up tube ..best way to explain it ... like haveing a cold drink with a straw in it blow real hard past the straw as if trying to make the straw whistle like a old moonshine jug.. it brings the fluid up to the tip of the straw then splaters it out... not a very acurate way to paint at all..

i like to look for duel action rather than a single action... duel gives you the ability to adjust the amount of paint flow and the air flow depending on the fluids thickness. you are able to run low air presure with alot of fluid coming out or alot of air presure with little fluid coming out ..

single action only lets you adjust air flow ..i never use the single action ..

i look for gravity feed over syphon feed .. gravity feed has the cup built into the top or side of the brush or a cavity you can fill inside the brush itself..
heres the one i use the most .. its the gravity feed..